Follow us:
Advisory Committee

Though student-run, the Forum is supported by a committee of distinguished professors, who advise the president and executive committee on long-term matters. Advisers may from time to time suggest guests or future events, review committee work, and assist with the procurement of guest speakers. However, event preparations, moderating of events, and committee work are strictly carried out by the student members of the Berkeley Forum.

Alexander Coward is a lecturer in Mathematics at the University of California, Berkeley. He has previously taught at the University of Oxford, the University of California at Davis, as well as other schools and universities on four different continents. His research specializes in 3-dimensional topology and geometry. Dr. Coward is a strong advocate for undergraduate education. In November 2013, one of the emails he sent his students on the importance of undergraduate education gained worldwide attention.

Brian Delay is an associate professor of history at the University of California, Berkeley. He is the author of "War of a Thousand Deserts: Indian Raids and the U.S. America War" and is the recipient of the Bryce Wood Book Award for the outstanding book on Latin American in the social sciences and humanities. Mr. Delay was recognized by the History News Network as one of 20 top historians under the age of 40.

John Ellwood is a professor of public policy at the Goldman School of Public Policy at the University of California, Berkeley. He previously taught at the Tuck School of Business Administration and has served on the management staff of the Congressional Budget Office. Mr. Ellwood was the Director of the Public Policy Institute of California from 1995 through 1997.

Alex Filippenko is the Richard & Rhoda Goldman Distinguished Professor in the Physical Sciences at the University of California, Berkeley. An elected member of the National Academy of Sciences, he is one of the world’s most highly cited astronomers. He is the only person to have been a member of both teams that revealed the accelerating expansion of the Universe, a discovery that was honored with the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physics. Voted the “Best Professor” at Berkeley a record 9 times, he was named the National Professor of the Year in 2006. He has produced 5 astronomy video courses with The Teaching Company, and wrote an award-winning astronomy textbook, and appears in numerous television documentaries, including about 40 episodes of The Universe series on The History Channel. In 2004, he was awarded the Carl Sagan Prize for Science Popularization.

Robert Reich is Chancellor’s Professor of Public Policy at the University of California at Berkeley and Senior Fellow at the Blum Center for Developing Economies. He previously served as Secretary of Labor in the Clinton administration and was named by Time Magazine as one of the ten most effective cabinet secretaries of the twentieth century. He has written thirteen books, including the best-sellers "Aftershock," "The Work of Nations," and "Beyond Outrage." He is also a founding editor of the American Prospect magazine and chairman of Common Cause. He headlines in the critically-acclaimed film "Inequality for All."